Created
Status
Ongoing
Watchers
Recent readers

Hello. Welcome to A Champion in Earth Bet, a Worm quest with light crossover elements from The...
Choice of Champion
Hello. Welcome to A Champion in Earth Bet, a Worm quest with light crossover elements from The Avatar's World. The Avatar's World was my first attempt at creating a custom superhero setting, back when I was running a Mutants&Masterminds campaign... Playing this quest won't actually require any prior knowledge of it, though - it's just one character crossing over.

A fair warning - this is my first attempt at running a Quest, done in large part to learn the ropes. Do not expect the brilliance of a Sojiko or a Gromweld, nor a rapid-fire update rate. XD

Here's the story-only thread and the TVTropes page. Here is the spinoff story, starting right after the first "Perspectives" chapter.

And so, without further ado…

CHOICE OF CHAMPION

There's something oddly anticlimactic about the teleporter. It relies on incredibly sophisticated applications of physics to nigh-instantly transport you from the Earth's surface to an ultra-tech fortress in low Earth orbit, but it doesn't feel like anything is happening. No lightshow, no sound effects, no tingling sensation - one moment you're in one place, the next moment you're in another.

Of course, the view more than makes up for it. From this height, the curvature of the Earth is plain to see. The sight is enough to remind even the most jaded superhero what you're fighting for.

But, while no-one will begrudge you a few moments of silent admiration, that's not what you're here for. Like the rest, you're headed toward the meeting room.