Still in Exile (ASOIAF/Dresden Files)

Created
Status
Ongoing
Watchers
Recent readers

Something I came up with on the fly yesterday. Im debating on continuing it. I've never written...
1.1 - Bran

Rhaegar

Azor Ahai
Something I came up with on the fly yesterday. Im debating on continuing it. I've never written anything ASOIAF before, so hopefully it comes across as passable.

Still in Exile

Bran

The world was so much smaller after the fall. There was so much I wish could have done, places I could have seen, I wish… I wanted to be a knight. The wind blew carrying a biting chill. I closed my eyes letting go of those fantasies. Those were but dreams of spring, and winter is coming.

The godswood of Winterfell was quiet and there was a peacefulness there that soothed the spirit. Only the distant sound from further in the forest where Hodor played with Summer broke the silence. I shifted a little on the ground with my arms. The position was uncomfortable, but there was little to be done for it. I wanted to pray before the weirwood just as my father would have. The memory sent an ache in my chest. Sometimes I believed it would never go away.

"I ask that you bless my brother's campaign," I prayed, although I wondered if the Old Gods were even listening. If they were I wouldn't be broken. "I hope Robb gets justice for my lord father, and let him find our sisters in good health."

I stared at the solemn face in the weirdwood. The sap pooled into the crevices of the carving and those deep red eyes saw through right to the heart of me. It was disquieting. I may be the Stark in Winterfell, but I still felt like the ruined boy playing at lord.

Why did Mother have to leave? Why did any of them have to leave?

Questioning the past was what plagued my thoughts of late. I felt like every moment was accompanied by a what could have been. If Father hadn't died, if Robb hadn't marched to war, if I could walk…