Status
Ongoing
Watchers
Recent readers

Story Chapters
Prologue

Cinera

Deus Lo Vult!
I'm well aware that I'm a noob author, so I don't proclaim the story to be any good. As such I would appreciate your comments, critiques, reviews, flames, etc. All feedback is welcome. That said, without further ado I present to you the prologue of Ouroboros.

~~~

We gathered at Helios Square, the most powerful metas humanity had to offer. I looked at the lower right corner of my field of vision to check the time: 11:59:28.098418754. I breathed out, a little over 30 seconds left. This was it, millennia of preparation about to bear fruit. Serenity approached from behind and I felt my nerves loosening and my heart rate slowing the closer she got. She hugged me and I felt absolutely tranquil even as some errant thoughts tried to distract me. Some might consider such thoughts rude, especially considering she was an empath and would be well aware of them, but because she was an empath and a very beautiful woman, she should be used to dealing with such things. Emperor stood to my right and King to my left. I took another breath, I was ready. Everything was in place, failure was not an option. I looked upon the eponymous Tower; the 10km tall monstrosity pierced the heavens standing as a testament to humanity's might. That same defiance was replicated among those gathered here today. We all knew our part, we all knew what must be done, and judging by the emotions filtering across the empathic link Serenity had set up, we all had the necessary resolve.

Thank you everyone, that defiance, that determination, your resolve. I swear by Katherine it shall not be in vain.